From Ballerina to PR Aspirant

Photo by Blaine Covert

Photo by Blaine Covert

Transitioning from high school to college is not always the easiest, especially when you have to drop a lifestyle that you have become so accustomed to. For me, the hardest part of my transition was learning to live without dance. I grew up in the ballet studio, it was my second home, and I spent most of my time with dance teachers and peers who become like a second family to me. Giving that up was not easy and it was an extremely hard decision to make; however, as I am diving into the study of public relations, I am finding that there are ways to still incorporate my love with dance into a career of PR.

I want to help others weigh their pros and cons when deciding between college and pursuing a career in the performing arts. Here are a few tips that I would like to offer that I wish someone had told me:

  • Think about what decision will be best for you in the long run. Do not worry about the opinions of others or what other people think you should do. What matters most is that you are happy with your decision.
  • Contrary to what many may say, it is really important to have a clear idea of where you want to be headed by freshman year in college. It is even more important to have an idea of a major before you even apply to colleges. This will make life a lot easier and will help you choose a school.
  • If you are on the fence about pursuing a career in the performing arts or going to college, think of ways that you can do both. There are so many great schools out there that offer programs that will allow you to do both. Check out the links below for some ideas.
  • If you know you want to go to college, but are unsure about a major, think about possibly careers where you can incorporate the performing arts. For example, I have chosen public relations because I know I will be able to still incorporate my love for dance into a career. It’s a win-win situation!
  • Never feel like you have to follow the “norm.” If pursuing a professional career in the world of performing arts is what you want to do, then do it. You can always go to college or take online classes in your free time.
  • My last piece of advice is to never give up on your true passion. Words cannot express how happy a ballet class can make me and having access to classes that fulfill your passion is a must!

Here are some great schools with performing arts programs:

Tisch School of the Arts

SUNY Purchase

University of Utah

Indiana University

Also, if you would like to hear more about my story, check out my autobiography below.

Leave a Reply

